Texas Law Shield
10,913 Views | 39 Replies
Hoss
9:24a, 4/30/12
Haven't read this whole thread yet so not sure if I'm repeating what others have said...

I did my renewal with Central Texas Gun Works last summer. I actually hosted the class at my house and Mike and his helper came to us (we had a large group from our church taking the class). We didn't get a 20 minute talk from the TLS guy because he wasn't available that day, but Mike did tell us about it and we did discuss the legal ramifications of a defensive shooting. The things he discussed with us were right in line with what the OP stated above.

I have no personal experience to draw from since I've never had to shoot anyone, but I have ALWAYS heard the exact same thing about self defense shootings. "Every bullet has a lawyer attached to it." In Massad Ayoob's book, "In the Gravest Extreme", he pretty much says the same thing. You WILL be arrested while the police try to sort things out and there will almost always be legal fees involved. I'm sure there are exceptions, but based on everything I've always heard and read you can pretty much plan on being arrested and spending money if you have to shoot someone.

That being said, all of that was before the Castle Doctrine came along. Prior to the Castle Doctrine even if you were no billed or found not guilty in a criminal court you could still be sued by the victim or his family in a civil court. My understanding is that the Castle Doctrine took that away, so that if you are no billed or found not guilty in a criminal court then you also cannot be sued in a civil court.