Former oil exec. withdraws application to build private dam on South Llano River
5,664 Views | 41 Replies
Lance in Round Mountain
1:12p, 10/26/23
Greg Garland TAMU '80 - the former CEO of Phillips 66 - has withdrawn his permit application to build a private dam on his ranch in Edwards County. His proposed private pond would've been close to six olympic-sized swimming pools and taken nearly 4 million gallons from the South Llano River, quite controversially in parts of the Hill Country.

News Article
B-1 83
1:15p, 10/26/23
It takes away zero once it fills, and one event like today makes it moot. 12 acre feet is not that much water in the big picture.
Being in TexAgs jail changes a man……..no, not really
AggieOO
1:30p, 10/26/23
i'm far from an expert, so i'm sure someone will shoot holes in this question, but....

what about all the times texas doesn't get rain like we are getting now? Doesn't that dam stop water from flowing downstream in times like this summer when we are in a drought?
mpl35
1:44p, 10/26/23
In reply to B-1 83
B-1 83 said:

It takes away zero once it fills, and one event like today makes it moot. 12 acre feet is not that much water in the big picture.

What if 10 guys want to do it? Or a hundred? Adds up.
AgGrad99
1:54p, 10/26/23
His dam made the news. When one of the stations went to report on the debate, someone tipped them off to this illegal dam:

https://www.kxan.com/news/texas/illegal-dam-in-mason-county-blocking-water-from-refilling-highland-lakes/

Crazy that someone would build that without the proper permits, etc.
AgGrad99
1:56p, 10/26/23
In reply to mpl35
mpl35 said:

B-1 83 said:

In the report, about the illegal dam, I saw one of the hydrologists mention that there are over 12,000 illegal dams he found. His estimate was 15% of the water that would go into the Highland Lakes, are being lost because of it. 15% is a ton of water, that is needed by this regions water sources.

"death by ten thousand cuts' is how he described it.
JB