BJJ
123,913 Views | 1155 Replies
Sweep4-2
10:47p, 6/27/19
In reply to OaklandAg06
Very cool! BJJ is a fun journey and lifestyle! Glad you're having a good time! Where do you train?
OaklandAg06
9:09a, 6/28/19
Marcelo Garcia Dallas
chipotle
9:42a, 6/28/19
I'll probably be stuck at brown for a good while now. I train maybe 2-3 times a week and with family/job taking so much time I don't see this changing. However, as a hobbyist I'm perfectly comfortable at this level. Will continue training til I'm dead regardless of wardrobe color. Also, at 41 I think old man strength is kicking in so that's good.
Sweep4-2
4:32p, 6/28/19
In reply to chipotle
OaklandAg06, very cool! I haven't been to an MG gym but like the approach MG uses to BJJ.

Chipotle, I'm in the same boat as you. I've been a brown belt for a while and balance training with family, work and age (48). Love the sport and my BJJ family, and keep hoping NOT to get promoted for a while.
chipotle
8:53p, 6/28/19
In reply to Sweep4-2
Sweep4-2 said:

OaklandAg06, very cool! I haven't been to an MG gym but like the approach MG uses to BJJ.

Chipotle, I'm in the same boat as you. I've been a brown belt for a while and balance training with family, work and age (48). Love the sport and my BJJ family, and keep hoping NOT to get promoted for a while.

Years ago a guy I trained with was talking with the instructor and the instructor was saying something like, "when I promote you to black..." and then he was all, "don't you ***king dare." This wasn't the first time I've seen such resistance to getting a black belt. Now that I'm in that boat...yep....DON'T YOU ***KING DARE!
newhowdyag2004
2:02p, 9/2/19