***Weightlifting Thread***
95,252 Views | 1418 Replies
Beau Holder
2:25a, 2/18/24
In reply to 10andBOUNCE
I've been at 190 for a while, those last 10 lbs to 200 are so hard. But man it's a satisfying lift. Also the easiest one to almost pass out on.
CC09LawAg
9:03a, 2/18/24
In reply to Beau Holder
It's the whole reason I bought 1.25 lb plates. When I was doing 5x5 I was stalling out trying to jump 5 pounds at a time.

I will take any progress I can get on OHP, no matter how slow.
SteveA
5:52p, 2/19/24
I've been lifting for a few years, but only make marginal progress. I'm also a competitive cyclist, so I imagine that side of my fitness routine is negating lifting. Any advice, or just keep plugging slow and steady?
ttha_aggie_09
7:51p, 2/19/24
In reply to SteveA
It's not negating your lifting but I would imagine it's making it very difficult to put on noticeable muscle, given the amount of calories I imagine you're burning. Strength training is only going to help with cycling too.

If your goal is to look more jacked, adjust your calories up and add some protein to see if you can put on more muscle.
Farmer1906
7:54p, 2/19/24
In reply to ttha_aggie_09
It might be negating it some. There is only so much you can do even with a boatload of calories. If you're cycling every other day, I'm not so sure you'll be able to squat a ton of weight because of the required rest you need.
ttha_aggie_09
8:05p, 2/19/24
In reply to Farmer1906
This is an outlier but there is a cyclist with the biggest quads I have ever seen a dude proportionate to the rest of his body. I realize that's an outlier and not sure how good of a cyclist he is but it's still possible.

I get what you're saying but it's still possible to put on muscle mass and I would bet it's mostly a numbers game. Squat 500lbs? Who knows… but I would guess that a more lean, athletic runner/endurance based frame would be much more beneficial in cycling.
bam02
8:20p, 2/19/24