Are we recruiting any kids in deep south texas?
5,412 Views | 48 Replies
Frank the Tank
11:49a, 8/4/04
I'm originally from Mission and am curious to know if we're looking at anyone from the valley. It's great to see kids from Sharyland and Mission High at A&M and would love to see more.

Do any of you know if any one kid has caught the coaches attention?
ljhookem
7:11p, 8/4/04
Frank the Tank, I did some reasearch and I didn't see any offers (out of the numerous Fran has offered) to anyone from the valley area.

HOOKEM
realhorn
8:09p, 8/4/04
frank there is a kid from sharyland thats a sophomore who is a hoss. I am from Brownsville and the only great kids out of the valley were the taylor's, tony ellis and now billy garza.
Frank the Tank
8:23p, 8/4/04
Thanks, guys. I realize it's tough for our valley kids to make it to the next level due to an overall lack of size and speed. Most of our careers ended in high school.

I appreciate ya'll's time.
McAg99
12:25a, 8/5/04
Realhorn, I graduated a year before Ellis at Hanna. What school did you go to?
realhorn
12:58a, 8/5/04
St. Joseph's Academy
l-horndev
12:59a, 8/5/04
With the exception of the Detmers, a lot of talented kids in the valley move to more "high profile" schools for their junior and senior years just to get some college attention.
realhorn
1:00a, 8/5/04
Tom Landry came out of the valley. Stadium in mission is named after him
mudboy....
11:23a, 8/5/04
I am from McAllen, there have been very few I can remember. Ellis(brownsv), Detmer and the Taylors(from mission), a few walk ons at a lot of schools. Mark Morgan(McHI) got a full ride to TCU in early ninties, but never made it there. Aggies had a good 12th man in T. Bishop from (McA Memorial.)
McAg99
11:44a, 8/5/04
Only the younger Detmer came out of Mission, I think.

Realhorn, what year did you graduate from St. Joe's? I went there for a year.
mudboy....
12:21p, 8/5/04