What Antivirus do you use?
1,976 Views | 24 Replies
infinity ag
11:43a, 3/25/24
I have been using the free AVG for about 20 years. It's decent but of late it's gotten very intrusive. It displays popups to sell me stuff and it happens at inopportune moments like a meeting or an interview.

Also, I watch streamed sports and it throws popups in the middle of the screen to say "URL:Blacklist". or "URL:Phishing".

What are some free alternatives?

powerbelly
11:45a, 3/25/24
Microsoft defender and common sense.
DallasTeleAg
11:55a, 3/25/24
In reply to powerbelly
powerbelly said:

This.

I've never been hit with anything in my entire life.
infinity ag
2:20p, 3/25/24
In reply to DallasTeleAg
DallasTeleAg said:

powerbelly said:

This.

I've never been hit with anything in my entire life.

Me neither, in about 26 years that I have had a PC in my control. There could be a first time so I want to be protected.
infinity ag
2:21p, 3/25/24
In reply to powerbelly
powerbelly said:

Looks like MS Defender AV comes with Windows, so I might not need AVG at all. No need to install anything 3rd party.

I had a license to Norton AV back in 1998 or so and when that expired I didn't feel like buying anything. So AVG was free so I've used it for 20+ years. I didn't even realize that Windows added AV in the OS itself. Just uninstalled AVG.
Cromagnum
10:58a, 3/26/24
I like ESET Nod32 myself.
spieg12
11:17a, 3/26/24
In reply to powerbelly
powerbelly said:

So much this. All anti-virus software does nowadays is significantly bog down your CPU. That industry is a money making racket.
AgCMT
12:49p, 3/26/24
In reply to spieg12
Working in the cybersecurity industry, we don't even make antivirus solutions any longer. You could never keep up with the changing threats out there with the typical antivirus programs of the past.