Olsen Field question (new park or just expansion)

17,096 Views | 183 Replies | Last: 8 days ago by LB12Diamond
Cynical_Texan
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Can someone inform me what A&M plans to do with our ballpark?

Are they going to "fix it up" in the off season or will a new park be built?

Anyone have any renderings of what they plan to build?

Thank you!
RED AG 98
AG
There's not any real info out there on the current proposal but it's supposed to be coming soon...

There were renderings from a few years back, pre-Schloss, that it seems we re-engaged on when he came back. But most recently, it seems those plans just aren't large enough / good enough. He wants to create something really special.

The question of where? seems to have been settled -- same location seems almost a certainty. The open questions seem to be: how big? when? how much $?

I have zero inside knowledge here. Just summarizing what I've read a few recent threads such as:
Schloss on Olsen Expansion | TexAgs
Scooley01
AG
I heard (from a player) that the plan is to fully enclose the field in seating, raising up the current scoreboard. It will (unfortunately) also block view of the train. I'm not sure how much of that is just idea bouncing vs firm intentions, but that's what I was told.

In the same conversation, it was also mentioned that the indoor facilities would be getting an overhaul as well. The PT area and some of the other indoor areas are in bad need of an update.
trouble
AG
The rumor i heard was pretty much complete rebuild in the same location but we still need a major donor
Tuve
Really hope we get firm news soon. Need to build Schloss the new ballpark ASAP. Best coach we've ever had on campus, can't let him leave because of poor facilities.
RED AG 98
AG
I want this. I know there are only so many big donors, and they are taxed between FB, economy, etc... I do wish we could get the public campaign started asap to capitalize on current momentum.